The Potential Good & the Bad of the Ghost in the Shell film.

being-created

The upcoming Ghost in the Shell live action movie adaptation based on the Anime and Manga created by Masamune Shirow will be released in US theaters March 31 2017. I’m excited for the movie but like any other movie I’m excited for I do have my doubts. I will like to address 3 reasons I think this film could be potentially be good and 3 reasons this film can be absolutely abysmal!


3 Good Reasons

1. This could be one of the best visual film of 2017

ghost-in-the-shell-visual-effects

Hopefully until Blade Runner 2049 I believe Ghost in the Shell will be the best visual stunning sic fi film in 2017. I truly enjoyed watching the atmosphere of the city as I was watching the trailer. One of the best scenes was  watching the “naked” cybernetic suit especially when  Motoko Kusanagi played by actress Scarlet Johansson, featured a slo mo fight scene using her invisible mesh suit into effect.

Like this for example.

invisible-suit


2. A begin of an Live Action  Anime/Manga Craze?

anime-vs-movie

Regardless how you categorized Edge of Tomorrow’s source material either is from a Light Novel or from a Manga titled “All You Need Is Kill”  it is proven that Edge of Tomorrow have to be the most successful “American” made movie that was adapted from Japanese source material. Edge of Tomorrow was successful when it comes to critics and to audience because the movie took a non original idea into something exciting, engaging and added interesting characters especially when it comes to Emily Blunt’s portrayal as Rita Vrataski. If Ghost in the Shell tracks well with critics, positive word of mouth similar to Edge of Tomorrow, than we have potentially great Manga adaptions heading our way to the big screen.


1. This Could be Scarlet Jo’s Break Out Hit

Scarlet Jo.jpg

Yeah, yeah before you lecture me I’m aware that Scarlet  Johansson’s biggest role is when she is featured in The Avenger films or the MCU standalone Captain America movies (Winter Soldier and Civil War) as Black Widow. From a Forbes Article http://www.forbes.com/sites/natalierobehmed/2016/12/27/scarlett-johansson-is-the-top-grossing-actor-of-2016/

Scarlet Jo was announced as being one of the top paid actress of Hollywood in 2016 but as of yet still haven’t landed a Black Widow standalone movie in the MCU slate. Well maybe if Ghost in the Shell gather’s good reception especially if everyone loves Scarlet Jo as the lead maybe this movie will prove Scarlet Jo can carry multi million action blockbuster on her own shoulders.


The Bad

3. Style over Substance

aeon-sux

Yes I’m looking at you Aeon Sux…sorry I meant Flux. Like many other terribly directed sci fi action female lead movies such as UltraViolet and Elektra (2005 film) they are style over substance. There are 3 concerns I hope Ghost in the Shell won’t do like:

A. Having Visual Effects being only thing good about the movie instead of the story.

B Scarlet Jo only trying too look sexy in her tight cybernetic suit (I won’t lie won’t be complaining) but being wooden as a dead tree.

C.  Making us suffer to watch a terrible convoluted story line that leaves us confused or bored after leaving the theater.


2. Cliches

ghost-in-the-shell-cliche

I’m not looking for this to be the next dystopia original sci fi film like a Clock Work Orange but I hope Ghost in the Shell leaves me out the theater feeling I watched something refreshing. Well the exception of already knowing this is based off a pre-existing source material. I hope Ghost in the Shell will not fall in same movie tropes such as offering us the same old tired slo mo action scenes that looks like a poor man’s Matrix or 300. Also, adding throwaway mustache twirling villain and added character subplots that felt pointless to tell. But the most important thing I hope Ghost in the Shell won’t fall into biggest cliched trap with action movies recently, which is allowing the trailers show all the best action scenes and moments in the trailers.


1. Bad Casting?

SSD-15272.DNG

I feel the Ghost in Shell whitewashing controversy can be discuss in another topic, but if Ghost in the Shell fails with critics and box office than Scale Jo’s performance can be up for the debate as being example as another bad casting decision.  I hope Ghost in the Shell’s studio and casting director won’t fall in the same tired trope by casting a actor or actress in a action movie just to gain a wider attraction. I understand movies are made as a business and not to please fans, but I hope Scarlet Jo was cast because the studio saw something in her that  was worthy enough to play this role, not just because she is a BIG name to the public consciousness.


Conclusion

I’m a big fan of Ghost in the Shell source material and its premise which leaves me worried that Live action American adaptation will turn out to be another sci dud. But I hope I’m proven wrong in March 31st. I would like to know what’s your opinion on Ghost in the Shell? Do you think it will be good or bad let me know your thoughts below.

Watch the trailer for Ghost in the Shell

Follow the Underground Blog 

Facebook:  https://www.facebook.com/groups/868603329879618/

Twitter: https://twitter.com/Johnathanbracey

Google Plus: https://plus.google.com/collection/0RgxZ


Purchase Underground Art Magazines From these Accounts both issues cost $2.99 and Subscription is $4.99

Facebook account https://www.facebook.com/jbracey1995UndergroundArtMag/
Twitter Account https://twitter.com/jUndergroundart,
LinkIn Page https://www.linkedin.com/in/johnathan-bracey-04ba66b8/,
Instagram account https://www.instagram.com/jbraceyundergoundart/, and
Underground Art Magazine Website https://undergroundartmagazinedot.wordpress.com/

Leave a comment